Lifecycles | 3HO International


Maturity is a process and it has different aspects. In Kundalini Yoga, we talk about how a human being matures through a very dependable set of cycles.

Every 18 years, the physical body goes through a process of maturity and change. We call this the Cycle of Life Energy. Every 11 years, the way you apply what you know to solving problems changes. The horizon of the intelligence expands. We call this the Cycle of Intelligence. And every 7 years, the fundamental sense of your identity evolves. It deepens, building on the wisdom of past experiences. We call this the Cycle of Consciousness.

These cycles are built into the structure of the human body. The yogis investigated and discovered these subtle but accurate cycles encoded in the brain and the glands. Understanding these cycles and how they impact your life is a powerful aspect of Kundalini Yoga. These teachings about the Lifecycles are part of Yogi Bhajan’s teachings on Humanology – the science of realizing the full potential of the human being.

The Kundalini Research Institute (KRI) offers a course on Lifecycles and Lifestyles through their Level 2 Kundalini Yoga Certification Program.

The Cycle of Life Energy

The Cycle of Intelligence

The Cycle of Consciousness

The First and Last Breath

Honoring Life Transitions